Builidng Division Fee Schedule-collection charges on issurance of certificate of occupancy

BUILDING PERMITTING FEE SCHEDULE



Note: All Building Permit Fees are calculated starting with the minimum base permit fee by permit type plus a fee determined by the Dollar Value of Construction as calculated below:

Minimum Base Building Permit Fees:


  • Minimum Base Permit Fee for single family, single family attached, and two family new construction; residential additions and alterations; and all other building permits (i.e. re- roof, mechanical, plumbing, aluminum, accessory buildings, fire sprinkler, fire alarm, tents, miscellaneous, etc.) is $90.00

  • Minimum Base Permit fee for multi-family, office, commercial, industrial or any construction requiring review and/or inspection by the Fire Marshal and for commercial additions and alterations is $180.00

Dollar Value of Construction Fee Calculations:


  • The permit fee for all new construction and additions shall be calculated based on the Building Valuation Data (BVD) table published in the ICC Building Safety Journal or the stated contract price, whichever is greater. The BVD table is published in February and August each year.

    www.iccsafe.org/codes-tech-support/codes/code-development-process/building-valuation-data/

  • Based on the resulting building valuation or contract price, the permit fee is as follows:


Dollar Value of Construction from – to:


o

$0 - $100,000

Add $3.25/thousand

o

$100,001 - $1,000,000

Add $1.75/thousand

o

$1,000,001 – and up

Add $0.90/thousand



Notes: Any person who commences any work on a building, structure, electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing system before obtaining the building official's approval or the necessary permits shall be subject to a penalty of 100 percent of the usual fee in addition to the required permit fees (Section 109.4 Florida Building Code - Section 553.73 Florida Statutes). This includes moving on a mobile home prior to obtaining a permit. All permits must be posted on the job site during all progress of the work. SPACE ABOVE - Somewhere?

Properties with a homestead exemption and with a Total Just Value of less than $50,000 as determined by the Alachua County Property Appraiser within the last year shall have building permit fees reduced 50 percent.

Building permit applicants electing to use a private provider for building permit plan review shall be charged at 50% of the normal plan review fee. Applicants electing to use a private provider for building inspections shall be charged at 50% of the normal building permit fee. Applicants using a private provider for both plan review and inspections are eligible for the 50% reduction on both the plan review fee and the permit fee.

5% credit to all future collections until appropriate reduced levels of revenues is achieved.


Refund, Extension, and Expiration Policy:


  • Building Permit (Applicant Requested) refunds where project is not started will be charged a processing fee is $70.00

  • Extensions of Building Permits approved by the Building Official for permits that have not expired is $70.00

Notes: No refunds shall be issued on expired permits. Expired building permits that have not received a final inspection or certificate of occupancy as required by the Florida Building Code shall be required to obtain a new building permit at full cost.



Plan Review Examination Fees:



Plan Review

Fees

  • When plan review is required based on requirements of the Florida Building Code, a plan review fee shall be paid at the time of submitting plans and building permit application. Such plan review fee is in addition to the building permit fee and Fire Marshal Review Fee. If the building permit application is withdrawn after the plans are reviewed the plan review fee is not refundable.

20% of Building Permit Fee

  • Plan Re-stamping or Re-certification Fee

$70.00 base plus hourly

  • Hourly

$65.00


Note:*Hourly rate calculated by rounding up to the nearest full hour.



Fire Prevention Plan Review and Inspection Fees:





State of Florida Surcharges:




Surcharge

  • Florida Building Commission Surcharge - Submitted to the Florida Department of Community Affairs

1.0 percent of all base building permit fees; minimum surcharge collection

$2.00 per Florida Statute 553.721

  • Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Fund Surcharge - Submitted to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation

1.5 percent of all base building permit fees; minimum surcharge collection

$2.00 per Florida Statute 468.631



Flat Rate Building Permit Fees:



Building Permit

Fees

  • Manufactured or Mobile Home

$155.00

  • Move On Structure

$170.00

  • Modular Structure (Per Building Section)4

$240.00

  • Swimming pool (in ground)

$290.00

  • Swimming pool (above ground)

$155.00

  • Power for New or Replacement Well

$155.00

  • Res Mechanical Alt/Repair

$85.00

  • Roof: New Residential

$165.00

  • Roof: Repair Residential

$165.00

  • Roof: New Commercial

$200.00

  • Roof: Repair Commercial

$200.00

  • Any Demolition

$155.00



Notes:

  1. Permit fees listed above include minimum required inspections. Additional inspection fee may apply.

  2. Properties with a homestead exemption and with a Total Just Value of less than $50,000, as determined by the Alachua County Property Appraiser within the last year, shall have building permit fees reduced 50 percent.

  3. 5% credit to all future collections until appropriate reduced level of revenues is achieved

  4. This applies only to Modular Structures approved by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity. This permit fee includes base permit fee plus on–site inspections; temporary pole, foundation, plumbing, and final.



INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION FEES



Inspection or Certification

Fees

  • Building Inspections (not included in permit)

$70.00

  • Building Inspection – Overtime Rate for Special Emergency Requests for Inspections after hours, on weekends and holidays (2 hour minimum)

$105.00/hour

  • Re-inspection fee (to be paid prior to requesting next inspection after failed inspection). All disapproved inspections shall require a mandatory re-inspection fee

$70.00

  • Certification, Renewal, or Copy of Certificate of Occupancy

$70.00

  • Zoning Certification and Review

$70.00

  • Curb Cut/Driveway Application Processing and Inspection

$26.00

  • Requested building inspections exceeding the standard number of inspections paid for in the original building permit will be charged an additional inspection fee per inspection

$70.00

  • Request for Information on code violations and expired permits in written format, one parcel with 4 or fewer addresses

$170.00



Note: The Standard Number of Building Inspections allowed for a building permit can be calculated by taking the Calculated Dollar Value of Construction Fee minus the Minimum Base Permit Fee and dividing by $70.00. New Single Family Development will be provided twelve (12) standard inspections as required by the Florida Building Code.

Note: Information request for 5 or more addresses per parcel, each address must pay an additional $5 per address.




REFUSE OR RURAL COLLECTION FEE SCHEDULE



INTERIM ASSESSMENT


UNIVERSAL REFUSE COLLECTION CHARGES ON ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE OF OCCUPANCY


2019

Fee

October 1 to October 31

$191.75

November 1 to November 30

$175.77

December 1 to December 31

$159.79

2020


January 1 to January 31

$143.81

February 1 to February 28

$127.83

March 1 to March 31

$111.85

April 1 to April 30

$ 95.88

May 1 to May 31

$ 79.90


THE FOLLOWING FEES ARE FOR SERVICES THROUGH SEPTEMBER 30, 2021


June 1 to June 30

$ 500.67

July 1 to July 31

$ 239.69

August 1 to August 31

$ 223.71

September 1 to September 30

$ 207.73




RURAL COLLECTION CENTER CHARGES ON ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES OF OCCUPANCY


2019

Fee

October 1 to October 31

$ 67.10

November 1 to November 30

$ 61.51

December 1 to December 31

$ 55.92

2020


January 1 to January 31

$ 50.33

February 1 to February 28

$ 44.73

March 1 to March 31

$ 39.14

April 1 to April 30

$ 33.55

May 1 to May 31

$ 27.96


THE FOLLOWING FEES ARE FOR SERVICES THROUGH SEPTEMBER 30, 2021


June 1 to June 30

$ 89.47

July 1 to July 31

$ 83.88

August 1 to August 31

$ 78.28

September 1 to September 30

$ 72.69




CONTRACTOR LICENSE FEES



Note:Licenses require bi-annual renewal. The license fee is doubled if the license is on the involuntary inactive list.

License

Fees

  • License Record Management Fee (one-time fee for record management of license, insurance, and workers' compensation for state certified contractors

$50.00

  • General Contractor

$70.00

  • Building Contractor

$70.00

  • Residential Contractor

$70.00

  • Plumbing Contractor

$70.00

  • Electrical Contractor

$70.00

  • Sheet Metal Contractor

$70.00

  • Journeyman Electrician

$50.00

  • Journeyman Plumber

$50.00

  • Inactive License

$30.00

  • Roofing Contractor

$70.00

  • Commercial Pool Contractor

$70.00

  • Residential Pool Contractor

$70.00

  • Aluminum Specialty

$50.00

  • Swimming Pool/Spa Servicing

$70.00

  • Reciprocity Letter

$20.00



ADMINISTRATIVE ZONING PERMIT FEES



Permit

Fees

  • Administrative Temporary Use Permit for outdoor promotional sales, special event sales and the sale of seasonal or temporary goods and commodities

$65.00

  • Fireworks Display Permit

$65.00

  • Noise Ordinance Waiver or Special Permit

$65.00

  • Administrative Temporary Use Permit for filming and media production

$65.00

  • Extension of Administrative Temporary Use Permit for filming and media production

$35.00

  • Administrative Home Based Business Permit (requires renewal every two years)

$65.00

  • Mobile Farmers Market

$65.00

  • Mobile Food Sales Permit

$65.00



TREE REMOVAL PERMIT FEES



Tree Removal

Fee

  • Per application at time of submission

$90.00




For more information, please check Alachua County FY20 Schedule of Fees and Charges for Services.

v 1.0.3.189