A group of people in the middle of discussion

How Do I Get Involved?

Ongoing involvement with local planning is one of the best ways to make sure that your community is a place you are proud to call home. With your help we can make sure that the developments built in our community meet the standards for Smart Growth and provide that sense of community we all desire.

An icon of a humanParticipate in a Standing Board or Commission

Board of County Commissioners (BoCC):

The BoCC has the power to approve or deny Comprehensive Plan Amendments, ULDC text amendments, Rezonings, Special Exceptions and Special Use Permits, among others.

Development Review Committee (DRC):

This Committee is composed of a regular and an alternate member designated by the directors of the Growth Management, Environmental Protection and Public Works Departments. The DRC regular and alternate members are not directly involved with the review of the DRC development applications. The Chair of the DRC shall be the Director of the Growth Management Department or such person's designated alternate. The DRC has the authority to approve, approve with conditions, or deny development applications.

The DRC meets the first and third Thursday of the month at 1:30 P.M. in the County Administration Building, Second Floor, Room 209.

Planning Commission (PC):

This Commission is appointed by the Board of County Commissioners (BoCC). The PC advises the BoCC on zoning and land use matters, including acting as the "local planning agency", for amendments to, or the adoption of, the Comprehensive Plan, as required by State law.

The PC meets on the third Wednesday of every month, at 6:30 PM in Room 209 of the County Administration Building.

PC Staff Liason: Patricia McAllister

An icon of a humanParticipate in an Advisory Committee

Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC):

Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC):
This committee explores and recommends policies that encourage sustainable economic development including the identification of a set of measurement criteria to rank economic development projects.

EDAC Staff Liason: Sean McLendon

Historical Commission:

This Commission consists of 11 members, appointed by the County Commission. Members are selected in consideration of the interest of history, cultural lore, the development and the institutions and sites of Alachua County and their interest in participating actively in the preservation and commemoration of the heritage of Alachua County.

Staff Liason: Michael R. Castine

Rural Concerns Advisory Committee:

The Rural Concerns Advisory Committee provides guidance and advice to the Board of County Commissioners regarding rural concerns and issues in Alachua County.

RCAC Staff Liason: Ken McMurry
  • Department of Growth Management
  • Jeffrey L. Hays , Growth Management Director
  • Address :
    County Annex Building, 10 SW 2nd Avenue, Gainesville, Fl 32601